February 14th, 2024

time: 6:09PM

mood: eepy

currently listening to: Forest - Akira Yamaoka


Salutations and well wishes to all from the webmaster of this site :)!

So, it's been a while since I've lasted updated this site, even to the journal. Oops! Worry not, as I am perfectly fine and well. Frankly, I just haven't had the time or motivation to focus on coding as of late! I didn't fully realize just how difficult it was going to be to adjust toward my current jobs' hours compared to my last. I'm always working, and in the little free time I have, I'm so tired that I end up just sort of laying around or playing video games. I haven't even had the time to focus on my art or writing like I used to. It's a challenge! For much of my life I placed all my self-worth on my ability to create, and while I try to remind myself that It's okay to just live and do things I enjoy like gaming, it can still be tough.

Regardless, I've actually been doing well, all things considered! I've gotten another cat whose a little black tom with polydactyly who I named Sisters of Mercy. He and my original cat Oingo Boingo have become close brothers, and while they both still cause typical cat problems, Mercy has definitely helped with Oingo's bad behavior and I'm happy he has company, especially now that I'm gone a lot more. It's a much happier household with the both of them together!

In november I had my twenty-first birthday, and my coworkers took me out to a drag show to celebrate. It was a TON of fun, and I feel very blessed to have these people in my life. I was so used to just kind of... existing? With my old coworkers, and not getting really emotionally attached or forming friendships with anyone. It's been a very special thing to have people I feel comfortable and safe around now, and it makes my life infinitely better because of it.

Upon the dawn of the new year, I've been rather busy preparing for my close friend's wedding, which is next month. I'll be vacationing in L.A. for about a week and a half and I'm so very excited for it! He asked me to be his best man, which was an honor that humbled my heart very much. I've been shopping a lot for proper clothes (because I don't own any clothes in my style for hot weather lol as well as the ceremony, reception, bachelor party, etc), working on their wedding gift (a portrait), and I'll have to start writing my speech now as well. It's a lot of work and stress and nervousness, but all so much giddy excitement!!

I've also been working on running a oneshot with some of my coworkers and other folks, which hopefully I'll get to run the first session of in maybe two weeks? It's a horror module made by Legends of Avantris on yt that I got from their patreon! It was the first "dungeon" they ran in their show Edge of Midnight, called The Crooked House. I've never DMed before so I'm nervous for that too, but I've just been putting all my time into preparing so I can be ready for whatever they throw at me. Which of course means they'll think of something I could never had predicted anyway, which is how all DnD sessions go. But at least I can try anyway!

To be quite honest, I'm not sure how much I'll be updating this site in the future. I'd love to get back into it, but as I've mentioned before, I'm just so short on time with so many other things to do. Just know that even if it goes months between updates, I still think of it, and eventually I'd like to work on all the things I had planned but hadn't had the chance to put into action yet.

That's all from me for now! If anyone wants to chat, feel free to send an email to vampireboytoy666@gmail.com. Cheers, and happy Valentine's Day!